School of Transnational Governance

EDMO presents executive and advisory boards

The boards of the European Digital Media Observatory (EDMO) will be led and chaired by STG Professors Miguel Poiares Maduro and Madeleine de Cock Buning.


With the guidance of the independent Advisory Board and under the leadership of the operational Executive Board, EDMO will build out its role as Europe’s hub for a multi-disciplinary response to online disinformation.

The daily activities of EDMO will be managed by an Executive board, composed of five heads responsible for the Observatory's main tasks and chaired by the former STG Director, Professor Miguel Poiares Maduro. The heterogeneity of the network is reflected in the Advisory Board, whose members act in their individual capacity as experts to ensure a strong support base of key stakeholders. Professor Madeleine de Cock Buning will chair the Advisory Board in her capacity as STG coordinator of the cluster on Digital Politics, Economies and Societies.

The work of both Boards is coordinated and supported by the EDMO Secretary-General and Project manager Paula Gori (STG).

Both the Executive Board and the Advisory Board have been appointed with immediate effect until 30 November 2022, when the first phase of the EDMO project ends. EDMO’s governance structure is independent from public authorities. A representative of the European Commission participates as observer without voting right in the Advisory Board.

Meet the EDMO board members.

Read the press release